Language, Violence, Blame and History


The Order of Turbulence

Gaza children photo by Andreas H. Lunde Gaza children
photo by Andreas H. Lunde

First, before you read further, let me put my cards on the table: I am of Sephardi descent. So, I’m Jewish, although not an Ashkenazi Jew and I hold no affiliation with that religion or with the state of Israel. None of my relatives died in the Holocaust, although a number of them probably didn’t survive the Spanish Inquisition (along with a good many Moors). So what? I have pigmentation on my gums, so I could just as easily be described of ‘North African’ descent.

I am not a Zionist. Let me clarify what I mean by that. I don’t believe that the Jews have a God-given right to the land of Israel because I don’t believe in God. By virtue of origination, the Palestinians have just as much right to claim the land they’re on. Most, although not all, racially originate from…

View original post 1,464 more words

Leave a Reply

